XOR Userforum

Full Version: DIN SYNC ISSUES
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
I’ve been rewiring things and have come across a glitchy behavior using Nerdseq clock input set as DIN SYNC.  I stumbled into this as I was shifting from using my modular DAW-less with Nerdseq as the master clock, back into DAW to recording some tracks.  

Previously, I believe I was using ModClock 24 and I would have to manually get patterns ready to play each time choosing the patterns to start at, then when I started the Ableton transport it would start playing.  In this mode, it doesn’t work when I send a reset (I have to unplug this) and then I have to manually reset with the shift and double click on stop, before prepping another pattern to play.  Just some extra steps. With DIN SYNC it was starting and stopping very nicely at the pattern/row I chose as my launching point.  Just a few steps more convenient.

Only issue is that now it will randomly glitch - after variable periods of time, the playback just stops.  I’ve attached a video of this.  As well, it will randomly stop and show all the white indicators (that indicate a pattern is playing) lit up on each and every pattern (but no pattern will play).  

It is fantastic when it works, but works no longer than a couple of minutes.  I tried taking my 8 bit do receiver out, as I thought it might be sending some sort of errant signals (sometimes when I plug it in, it starts playback of patterns), but this made no difference.  Any idea what’s happening?

It won’t let me share my video file directly (36 MB), so here’s a link:
 
https://share.icloud.com/photos/04wpLxHM...pRfDIbrhng

Here’s an image of another round, where it had a different glitch, with all the white bars:

[attachment=263]

Thanks!
Hmm...it looks a bit like the RUN line gets interrupted somehow. (It should stay at 5 Volt when it's started and 0 Volt when it's stopped)

Not sure yet what causes the bars to glitch, maybe it is related in a way?
Can you check if there is a interruption of the RUN? ( NerdSEQ Reset input)
(02-18-2021, 11:07 PM)XORadmin Wrote: [ -> ]Hmm...it looks a bit like the RUN line gets interrupted somehow. (It should stay at 5 Volt when it's started and 0 Volt when it's stopped)

Not sure yet what causes the bars to glitch, maybe it is related in a way?
Can you check if there is a interruption of the RUN? ( NerdSEQ Reset input)

Hi Thomas, thanks.  You inspired me to get VCV rack setup for the first time, so (for now) I could use the scope.  I have CV tools sending clock and run to Pamela’s New Workout.  I’ve multed this to NERDSEQ and in turn have sent a mult from NERDSEQ reset into my ES-9 (to follow on the scope).  When I watch the scope, the Run voltage runs steady at around 4.15 per scope reading and all is fine - for awhile.  When the NERDSEQ stops, there is indeed a brief dropout (looks like an inverted square wave or gate) to zero volts and then it starts again.  Not sure what’s happening here!  Let me look into it.  Seems this wouldn’t be any fault of the NERDSEQ, but is upstream?

UPDATE:
Increased the buffer size from 64 (was trying to deal with latency!) to 128 and so far it’s been fine for several minutes.  Works great this way.  Thanks!
(02-19-2021, 08:15 AM)sak-rwsd Wrote: [ -> ]
(02-18-2021, 11:07 PM)XORadmin Wrote: [ -> ]Hmm...it looks a bit like the RUN line gets interrupted somehow. (It should stay at 5 Volt when it's started and 0 Volt when it's stopped)

Not sure yet what causes the bars to glitch, maybe it is related in a way?
Can you check if there is a interruption of the RUN? ( NerdSEQ Reset input)

Hi Thomas, thanks.  You inspired me to get VCV rack setup for the first time, so (for now) I could use the scope.  I have CV tools sending clock and run to Pamela’s New Workout.  I’ve multed this to NERDSEQ and in turn have sent a mult from NERDSEQ reset into my ES-9 (to follow on the scope).  When I watch the scope, the Run voltage runs steady at around 4.15 per scope reading and all is fine - for awhile.  When the NERDSEQ stops, there is indeed a brief dropout (looks like an inverted square wave or gate) to zero volts and then it starts again.  Not sure what’s happening here!  Let me look into it.  Seems this wouldn’t be any fault of the NERDSEQ, but is upstream?

I just installed it and have it running for like 15 minutes and it is also still fine here. So the dropout causes your problems which causes to reset.
And as a follow up I think the graphical glitch happens caused by this. Like a too fast stop and start within a redraw point.

I see if I can reproduce that at least.