XOR Userforum

Full Version: Retrigger/Ratchet Question
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2
I use a table [00] to multiply my clock.

Do I need to use another table [01] to turn set it back to not multiply on another step?

I need to use 2 tables to turn on and off ratching per step?

Thanks,

Karlo
What firmware are you using?

If you try the new RC you can ratchet in the trigger column - no need for tables at all

Otherwise you can just stop a table by pressing [shift-cursor left] to put ** in the table column
If you use the tables you can use one of the table presets to get one shot ratcheting or you set your own triggers to one shot or you indeed use the stop table command or with the new firmware you use the added ratcheting functions.
(02-22-2021, 05:01 AM)depaffect Wrote: [ -> ]What firmware are you using?

If you try the new RC you can ratchet in the trigger column - no need for tables at all

Otherwise you can just stop a table by pressing [shift-cursor left] to put ** in the table column





1.23a

I tried using the ** in the table column and it didn't seem to work. I'm sure it's user error I will try it again this evening.

(02-22-2021, 09:19 AM)XORadmin Wrote: [ -> ]If you use the tables you can use one of the table presets to get one shot ratcheting or you set your own triggers to one shot or you indeed use the stop table command or with the new firmware you use the added ratcheting functions.

I'm on 1.23a, I've tried the retrigger FX in the pattern screen, but it's in milliseconds and It distributes the triggers across multiple rows/steps in the pattern. 

It's not intuitive how it works. Musically related subdivisions would make way more sense. 1/32, 1/16, 1/8, etc etc. 

I can't seem to figure how how many milliseconds I need for the quantity of triggers I've selected... and then it never sounds smooth going into the next row/step. Also, if you change the BPM, then aren't all the milliseconds off and you have to go back and change all the millisecond parameters on each FX row?

Easier and more enjoyable would be a subdivision, like 1/32 where you could select how many rows/steps it will span. then they ratcheting will always be musically related to the BPM. 

Am I missing something here?
I'm thinking I'm just not using the nerdseq incorrectly or I am fundementally misunderstanding the module itself.

Can someone give me an example how I get (4) 1/64th beat triggers on one row/step using the FX column? What FX command are you using and what are the values?

This seems simple enough but I'm struggling to achieve 4 retrigger ratchet per row/step from the FX column.

Thanks for the help everyone.
On 1.23A you use tables to get ratcheting (thats what you want). You program the ratch you want or you use one of the table presets (duplet, triplet ...).

In the new release candidate as you saw from depaffect's post you can set direct ratchets from the trigger column.
The regular triggers are not ratchets but retriggers and indeed based on fixed milliseconds.
I don't quite understand why you insist on the FX column.

Both depaffect and Thomas suggested with V1.23A you should use the table column and create an appropriate table.

The newly introduced ratchetting functions require you to upgrade to the current V1.24RC8 which is a release candidate and you may or may not want that.

Kind regards,
Michael
(02-22-2021, 02:31 PM)XORadmin Wrote: [ -> ]On 1.23A you use tables to get ratcheting (thats what you want). You program the ratch you want or you use one of the table presets (duplet, triplet ...).

In the new release candidate as you saw from depaffect's post you can set direct ratchets from the trigger column.
The regular triggers are not ratchets but retriggers and indeed based on fixed milliseconds.

So on release 1.23A there is no way to get subdivided triggers  (related to BPM) from the FX column. Got it. 

In the new release candidate how is the retriggering implemented? Selecting a subdivision or better yet, just the number of repeats per row/step (subdividied) would be AMAZING! Please tell me this coming.

I'll check the table presets, thank you. 

(02-22-2021, 02:46 PM)mgd Wrote: [ -> ]I don't quite understand why you insist on the FX column.

Both depaffect and Thomas suggested with V1.23A you should use the table column and create an appropriate table.

The newly introduced ratchetting functions require you to upgrade to the current V1.24RC8 which is a release candidate and you may or may not want that.

Kind regards,
Michael

I'm not "insisting" I'm trying to figure out how to perform a simple ratchet. I just got the Nerdseq and my understanding is limited. 

There is only 1 table column per pattern, correct?

You can't have multiple FX on row/step 00 of a table column correct?

So subsequent table with mulitple FX commands on separate rows/steps will have to wait until it reaches the row/column with that command. In other words, not instantaneously when the table is called.

Your wasting tables by turning on and off ratcheting which is accomplished by means of triggers and gates which can be controlled by the trigger column. That table can be used for pitch and other FX.
(02-22-2021, 02:47 PM)Karlo Wrote: [ -> ]
(02-22-2021, 02:31 PM)XORadmin Wrote: [ -> ]On 1.23A you use tables to get ratcheting (thats what you want). You program the ratch you want or you use one of the table presets (duplet, triplet ...).

In the new release candidate as you saw from depaffect's post you can set direct ratchets from the trigger column.
The regular triggers are not ratchets but retriggers and indeed based on fixed milliseconds.

So on release 1.23A there is no way to get subdivided triggers  (related to BPM) from the FX column. Got it. 

In the new release candidate how is the retriggering implemented? Selecting a subdivision or better yet, just the number of repeats per row/step (subdividied) would be AMAZING! Please tell me this coming.

I'll check the table presets, thank you. 

(02-22-2021, 02:46 PM)mgd Wrote: [ -> ]I don't quite understand why you insist on the FX column.

Both depaffect and Thomas suggested with V1.23A you should use the table column and create an appropriate table.

The newly introduced ratchetting functions require you to upgrade to the current V1.24RC8 which is a release candidate and you may or may not want that.

Kind regards,
Michael

I'm not "insisting" I'm trying to figure out how to perform a simple ratchet. I just got the Nerdseq and my understanding is limited. 

There is only 1 table column per pattern, correct?

You can't have multiple FX on row/step 00 of a table column correct?

So subsequent table with mulitple FX commands on separate rows/steps will have to wait until it reaches the row/column with that command. In other words, not instantaneously when the table is called.

Your wasting tables by turning on and off ratcheting which is accomplished by means of triggers and gates which can be controlled by the trigger column. That table can be used for pitch and other FX.

One running table per track, correct. I think you should understand a table as a additional sequencer on top of your current sequence to add additional manipulations to the sequence or even create sequences with it. So make ratchets, add maybe some transposition or add some FX on several steps. All possible next to your ratchet. Your table can run as a one shot, so no need to stop it. You can use a ** to stop a table, so no need to use an empty table to stop a table. 

And as mentioned, you can try the new version which gives you ratchets to the trigger column, where it belongs to...I totally agree.

https://xor-electronics.com/forum/showth...hp?tid=987

And if you want to wait until the stable release then tables are your friend Big Grin
(02-22-2021, 03:17 PM)XORadmin Wrote: [ -> ]
(02-22-2021, 02:47 PM)Karlo Wrote: [ -> ]
(02-22-2021, 02:31 PM)XORadmin Wrote: [ -> ]On 1.23A you use tables to get ratcheting (thats what you want). You program the ratch you want or you use one of the table presets (duplet, triplet ...).

In the new release candidate as you saw from depaffect's post you can set direct ratchets from the trigger column.
The regular triggers are not ratchets but retriggers and indeed based on fixed milliseconds.

So on release 1.23A there is no way to get subdivided triggers  (related to BPM) from the FX column. Got it. 

In the new release candidate how is the retriggering implemented? Selecting a subdivision or better yet, just the number of repeats per row/step (subdividied) would be AMAZING! Please tell me this coming.

I'll check the table presets, thank you. 

(02-22-2021, 02:46 PM)mgd Wrote: [ -> ]I don't quite understand why you insist on the FX column.

Both depaffect and Thomas suggested with V1.23A you should use the table column and create an appropriate table.

The newly introduced ratchetting functions require you to upgrade to the current V1.24RC8 which is a release candidate and you may or may not want that.

Kind regards,
Michael

I'm not "insisting" I'm trying to figure out how to perform a simple ratchet. I just got the Nerdseq and my understanding is limited. 

There is only 1 table column per pattern, correct?

You can't have multiple FX on row/step 00 of a table column correct?

So subsequent table with mulitple FX commands on separate rows/steps will have to wait until it reaches the row/column with that command. In other words, not instantaneously when the table is called.

Your wasting tables by turning on and off ratcheting which is accomplished by means of triggers and gates which can be controlled by the trigger column. That table can be used for pitch and other FX.

One running table per track, correct. I think you should understand a table as a additional sequencer on top of your current sequence to add additional manipulations to the sequence or even create sequences with it. So make ratchets, add maybe some transposition or add some FX on several steps. All possible next to your ratchet. Your table can run as a one shot, so no need to stop it. You can use a ** to stop a table, so no need to use an empty table to stop a table. 

And as mentioned, you can try the new version which gives you ratchets to the trigger column, where it belongs to...I totally agree.

https://xor-electronics.com/forum/showth...hp?tid=987

And if you want to wait until the stable release then tables are your friend Big Grin

Thanks! I'm going to master the nerdseq, I'm just going to need a little help along the way. Let me apologize in advance for all the questions I'm sure to have.
Pages: 1 2