XOR Userforum

Full Version: Mapping Discussion
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
(12-10-2023, 06:53 AM)knights who say neve Wrote: [ -> ]I'm trying to clock a track (set to 'mapping' in clock mult settings) from a cv input.
I can see the values changing on the cv input from 000 to FFF and back.
I'm not sure how to proceed from here. The track tick needs to be triggered when the lo to hi threshold is crossed,
but only once, until the level goes down and then back up. Can't just look at the voltage level since that could cause multiple triggers. 
Any suggestions?

I can’t even find the Clock Mult Settings (looked in the manual but nothing with those keywords) 
I can change the track clock in two menu: Nerd Track Menu from Sequencer mode and Track Setup sub from Nerd Menu in Pattern mode. 
Hope this feature will work soon it’s one of the thing I’m waiting the most. To be able to create kind of melodic Krell patch sequenced by looping envelopes
(12-14-2023, 07:28 AM)Labrioche Wrote: [ -> ]
(12-10-2023, 06:53 AM)knights who say neve Wrote: [ -> ]I'm trying to clock a track (set to 'mapping' in clock mult settings) from a cv input.
I can see the values changing on the cv input from 000 to FFF and back.
I'm not sure how to proceed from here. The track tick needs to be triggered when the lo to hi threshold is crossed,
but only once, until the level goes down and then back up. Can't just look at the voltage level since that could cause multiple triggers. 
Any suggestions?

I can’t even find the Clock Mult Settings (looked in the manual but nothing with those keywords) 
I can change the track clock in two menu: Nerd Track Menu from Sequencer mode and Track Setup sub from Nerd Menu in Pattern mode. 
Hope this feature will work soon it’s one of the thing I’m waiting the most. To be able to create kind of melodic Krell patch sequenced by looping envelopes

What do you want to do exactly? You can change the track clock of a track from the mappings which works:
Code:
> TRCK   TRK1   TCLK

There you can set between the known clock multipliers and dividers.
(12-10-2023, 08:05 AM)XORadmin Wrote: [ -> ]Right if you use CV in as a value then you would send 4095 clocks/triggers to the track if for example 000/FFF would be the result.
What you need to do is have the CV input in one row and in another row a function which would take care that for example only 0 or 6 is being send (6 clocks/ticks which would match a normal groove)
One option would be the pass command:
Code:
CALC PASS 00=6 > TRK TRK1 TICK

Where 00 is the row of the CV input.

This would then send 6 ticks once the CV goes high.

OK I can see what goes wrong here and why nothing is executing. It does execute though if you only add 1 tick instead of 6 (but then you got to do that 6 times to progress to the next step).
I go to change the execution a bit and it will be fine, no matter how many ticks are being added.
(12-14-2023, 08:57 AM)XORadmin Wrote: [ -> ]
(12-14-2023, 07:28 AM)Labrioche Wrote: [ -> ]
(12-10-2023, 06:53 AM)knights who say neve Wrote: [ -> ]I'm trying to clock a track (set to 'mapping' in clock mult settings) from a cv input.
I can see the values changing on the cv input from 000 to FFF and back.
I'm not sure how to proceed from here. The track tick needs to be triggered when the lo to hi threshold is crossed,
but only once, until the level goes down and then back up. Can't just look at the voltage level since that could cause multiple triggers. 
Any suggestions?

I can’t even find the Clock Mult Settings (looked in the manual but nothing with those keywords) 
I can change the track clock in two menu: Nerd Track Menu from Sequencer mode and Track Setup sub from Nerd Menu in Pattern mode. 
Hope this feature will work soon it’s one of the thing I’m waiting the most. To be able to create kind of melodic Krell patch sequenced by looping envelopes

What do you want to do exactly? You can change the track clock of a track from the mappings which works:
Code:
> TRCK   TRK1   TCLK

There you can set between the known clock multipliers and dividers.


I want to use CV In to act like a clock with a trigger or gate. Each time the trigger go from low to high the track go forward (or backward, ping-pong...) by one step. 

With this I could do kind of a Krell sequence:
- End Of Cycle Trig from a looping envelope in CV 1 
- Each Trig set track 1 to next step 
- Note is played and Mod can send a random value to modulate Attack or Decay of the looping envelope to modulate the clock time (End Of Cycle)

Since there's many internal envelopes I'm pretty sure if I can do it with an external looping envelope I can also do this within the Nerdseq!
(12-14-2023, 07:24 PM)Labrioche Wrote: [ -> ]
(12-14-2023, 08:57 AM)XORadmin Wrote: [ -> ]
(12-14-2023, 07:28 AM)Labrioche Wrote: [ -> ]
(12-10-2023, 06:53 AM)knights who say neve Wrote: [ -> ]I'm trying to clock a track (set to 'mapping' in clock mult settings) from a cv input.
I can see the values changing on the cv input from 000 to FFF and back.
I'm not sure how to proceed from here. The track tick needs to be triggered when the lo to hi threshold is crossed,
but only once, until the level goes down and then back up. Can't just look at the voltage level since that could cause multiple triggers. 
Any suggestions?

I can’t even find the Clock Mult Settings (looked in the manual but nothing with those keywords) 
I can change the track clock in two menu: Nerd Track Menu from Sequencer mode and Track Setup sub from Nerd Menu in Pattern mode. 
Hope this feature will work soon it’s one of the thing I’m waiting the most. To be able to create kind of melodic Krell patch sequenced by looping envelopes

What do you want to do exactly? You can change the track clock of a track from the mappings which works:
Code:
> TRCK   TRK1   TCLK

There you can set between the known clock multipliers and dividers.


I want to use CV In to act like a clock with a trigger or gate. Each time the trigger go from low to high the track go forward (or backward, ping-pong...) by one step. 

With this I could do kind of a Krell sequence:
- End Of Cycle Trig from a looping envelope in CV 1 
- Each Trig set track 1 to next step 
- Note is played and Mod can send a random value to modulate Attack or Decay of the looping envelope to modulate the clock time (End Of Cycle)

Since there's many internal envelopes I'm pretty sure if I can do it with an external looping envelope I can also do this within the Nerdseq!

Oh yes I see. That indeed needs a fix from me since the original function doesn't work 100% as I intended.
But this will be fine and does exactly what you want (and more)
This seems like a trivial thing to do, but I can’t make it happen: how do I scale a value in the 0-FFF range (say, an ENV) using a CV input? I can’t do MUL, since both the CV and the ENV are in the FFF range. I would need a CV value in the 0-1 range for that. Any ideas?
(12-16-2023, 05:52 PM)yrn1 Wrote: [ -> ]This seems like a trivial thing to do, but I can’t make it happen: how do I scale a value in the 0-FFF range (say, an ENV) using a CV input? I can’t do MUL, since both the CV and the ENV are in the FFF range. I would need a CV value in the 0-1 range for that. Any ideas?

I got no idea what you try to do exactly. And what to scale to what.
Sorry ‘scale’ is a bit an overloaded term. I want to use a CV input to ‘attenuate’ a value. So I have some mapping stuff going on and at some point I want to use a CV input to attenuate the value of another row.. Something like

CALC MUL 01:02

where row 01 is a CV input and row 02 is anything I want attenuated by the value of the row 01 CV input. This, of course, only works if row 1 (CV) would have a value between 0 and 1. But instead everything has a value between 0 and FFF.

So how could this be done?
(12-16-2023, 08:39 PM)yrn1 Wrote: [ -> ]Sorry ‘scale’ is a bit an overloaded term. I want to use a CV input to ‘attenuate’ a value. So I have some mapping stuff going on and at some point I want to use a CV input to attenuate the value of another row.. Something like

CALC MUL 01:02

where row 01 is a CV input and row 02 is anything I want attenuated by the value of the row 01 CV input. This, of course, only works if row 1 (CV) would have a value between 0 and 1. But instead everything has a value between 0 and FFF.

So how could this be done?

I still don't get exactly what you write. Where does the 0 / 1 come from. To attenuate something only a multiplication is most probably not the perfect thing as it would more amplify (except for if multiplying with something below 1 using the .1 multiplies).
To range something you would more need a dual calculation which is not directly possible here as the 'in between' results can be values with a decimal part and values that are higher than FFF.  Output = Input / 4095 * NewMaximum

To attenuate I would suggest the Calc Range command which uses the former row as the input value and the 2 parameters would be the min and max value.
If you use 0 as the min value and lets say 80 as the max value, then the input of 0-FFF would be 'scaled' to 0-80.

Code:
00  CV   IN1                           //CV Input as source, no destination
01 CALC   RNG   =0VA     >     //Input of the former row (row 00) being 'ranged' between 0 and the value of variable A
(12-16-2023, 09:04 PM)XORadmin Wrote: [ -> ]
(12-16-2023, 08:39 PM)yrn1 Wrote: [ -> ]Sorry ‘scale’ is a bit an overloaded term. I want to use a CV input to ‘attenuate’ a value. So I have some mapping stuff going on and at some point I want to use a CV input to attenuate the value of another row.. Something like

CALC MUL 01:02

where row 01 is a CV input and row 02 is anything I want attenuated by the value of the row 01 CV input. This, of course, only works if row 1 (CV) would have a value between 0 and 1. But instead everything has a value between 0 and FFF.

So how could this be done?

I still don't get exactly what you write. Where does the 0 / 1 come from. To attenuate something only a multiplication is most probably not the perfect thing as it would more amplify (except for if multiplying with something below 1 using the .1 multiplies).
To range something you would more need a dual calculation which is not directly possible here as the 'in between' results can be values with a decimal part and values that are higher than FFF.  Output = Input / 4095 * NewMaximum

To attenuate I would suggest the Calc Range command which uses the former row as the input value and the 2 parameters would be the min and max value.
If you use 0 as the min value and lets say 80 as the max value, then the input of 0-FFF would be 'scaled' to 0-80.

Code:
00  CV   IN1                           //CV Input as source, no destination
01 CALC   RNG   =0VA     >     //Input of the former row (row 00) being 'ranged' between 0 and the value of variable A

RNG is exactly what I was looking for! It's not in the manual though. Not sure if I encountered it on the nerdseq either (not at the instrument at the moment, will check tomorrow).

To clarify my previous explanation (sorry for being so confusing): "Output = Input / 4096 * NewMaximum": so "Input / 4096" is the value between 0 and 1 I was talking about. Which doesn't work, since decimal in-between values don't work.
Pages: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10