XOR Userforum

Full Version: Mapping Discussion
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
(12-16-2023, 09:24 PM)yrn1 Wrote: [ -> ]
(12-16-2023, 09:04 PM)XORadmin Wrote: [ -> ]
(12-16-2023, 08:39 PM)yrn1 Wrote: [ -> ]Sorry ‘scale’ is a bit an overloaded term. I want to use a CV input to ‘attenuate’ a value. So I have some mapping stuff going on and at some point I want to use a CV input to attenuate the value of another row.. Something like

CALC MUL 01:02

where row 01 is a CV input and row 02 is anything I want attenuated by the value of the row 01 CV input. This, of course, only works if row 1 (CV) would have a value between 0 and 1. But instead everything has a value between 0 and FFF.

So how could this be done?

I still don't get exactly what you write. Where does the 0 / 1 come from. To attenuate something only a multiplication is most probably not the perfect thing as it would more amplify (except for if multiplying with something below 1 using the .1 multiplies).
To range something you would more need a dual calculation which is not directly possible here as the 'in between' results can be values with a decimal part and values that are higher than FFF.  Output = Input / 4095 * NewMaximum

To attenuate I would suggest the Calc Range command which uses the former row as the input value and the 2 parameters would be the min and max value.
If you use 0 as the min value and lets say 80 as the max value, then the input of 0-FFF would be 'scaled' to 0-80.

Code:
00  CV   IN1                           //CV Input as source, no destination
01 CALC   RNG   =0VA     >     //Input of the former row (row 00) being 'ranged' between 0 and the value of variable A

RNG is exactly what I was looking for! It's not in the manual though. Not sure if I encountered it on the nerdseq either (not at the instrument at the moment, will check tomorrow).

To clarify my previous explanation (sorry for being so confusing): "Output = Input / 4096 * NewMaximum": so "Input / 4096" is the value between 0 and 1 I was talking about. Which doesn't work, since decimal in-between values don't work.

Ah OK, I see.
Yes indeed it is not in the preliminary manual yet. It has been one of the last features that I added.
(12-10-2023, 08:05 AM)XORadmin Wrote: [ -> ]Right if you use CV in as a value then you would send 4095 clocks/triggers to the track if for example 000/FFF would be the result.
What you need to do is have the CV input in one row and in another row a function which would take care that for example only 0 or 6 is being send (6 clocks/ticks which would match a normal groove)
One option would be the pass command:
Code:
CALC PASS 00=6 > TRK TRK1 TICK

Where 00 is the row of the CV input.

This would then send 6 ticks once the CV goes high.

I have a strange problem when using this that I'm not sure how to debug. I can successfully get an external gate/trigger clock signal to advance each step of the pattern whenever it the CV goes high. I do this by setting the mapping as described and setting the track clock to "mapping". However, for some reason the CV *outputs* are then all disabled (i.e., they stay at their previous value and don't change), and the advancing does not respect any breaks that I have in the pattern (i.e., I have a break at step 16, but it ignores that and just goes all the way through to step 64 and then returns to step 1 again).

So, to summarize:

* I can create a pattern that is clocked internally and outputs correct CV and respects the breaks that I put into the pattern.
* I can create a mapping like described above to clock each step of the pattern using an external trigger to CV input 1.
* Once I change the track clock on this track with this pattern to "mapping", the steps are advanced correctly for each external trigger received, but the CV outputs don't function anymore (they remain at whatever level they were before switching to "mapping") and any breaks in the pattern are ignored.
* If I then change the track clock back to "normal" the CV outputs and breaks are respected.

Has anyone experienced this and have a solution?

Thanks in advance for any suggestions!
(12-21-2023, 03:36 PM)zeitkunst Wrote: [ -> ].

Has anyone experienced this and have a solution?
Yes! A few posts earlier ;-)
(12-21-2023, 04:03 PM)XORadmin Wrote: [ -> ]
(12-21-2023, 03:36 PM)zeitkunst Wrote: [ -> ].

Has anyone experienced this and have a solution?
Yes! A few posts earlier ;-)

Ahh! Yes, might help if I read the entire thread rather than just search results Smile

But I guess I still have a question. I can get the outputs to function if I set the ticks to be 1 (as in post #13), but then I have the issue that my track of course needs 6 triggers to advance each step Smile I've tried to use a CBPB 101 0E FX command at step 00 to set the track clock to be *6 but that doesn't seem to have any effect. Is there a workaround for this, or do we need to wait for the maintenance release? Or am I missing something really simple to solve this issue?
(12-21-2023, 04:29 PM)zeitkunst Wrote: [ -> ]
(12-21-2023, 04:03 PM)XORadmin Wrote: [ -> ]
(12-21-2023, 03:36 PM)zeitkunst Wrote: [ -> ].

Has anyone experienced this and have a solution?
Yes! A few posts earlier ;-)

Ahh! Yes, might help if I read the entire thread rather than just search results Smile

But I guess I still have a question. I can get the outputs to function if I set the ticks to be 1 (as in post #13), but then I have the issue that my track of course needs 6 triggers to advance each step Smile I've tried to use a CBPB 101 0E FX command at step 00 to set the track clock to be *6 but that doesn't seem to have any effect. Is there a workaround for this, or do we need to wait for the maintenance release? Or am I missing something really simple to solve this issue?

They are less elegant workarounds. One would be to use a one shot table which got 6 times the xmap command. (Int clock 1).
Another would be to create a mapping that would allow a few skipped lines to play once
which each would give a tick. 
Or wait for the maintenance release.
(12-22-2023, 07:00 AM)XORadmin Wrote: [ -> ]
(12-21-2023, 04:29 PM)zeitkunst Wrote: [ -> ]
(12-21-2023, 04:03 PM)XORadmin Wrote: [ -> ]
(12-21-2023, 03:36 PM)zeitkunst Wrote: [ -> ].

Has anyone experienced this and have a solution?
Yes! A few posts earlier ;-)

Ahh! Yes, might help if I read the entire thread rather than just search results Smile

But I guess I still have a question. I can get the outputs to function if I set the ticks to be 1 (as in post #13), but then I have the issue that my track of course needs 6 triggers to advance each step Smile I've tried to use a CBPB 101 0E FX command at step 00 to set the track clock to be *6 but that doesn't seem to have any effect. Is there a workaround for this, or do we need to wait for the maintenance release? Or am I missing something really simple to solve this issue?

They are less elegant workarounds. One would be to use a one shot table which got 6 times the xmap command. (Int clock 1).
Another would be to create a mapping that would allow a few skipped lines to play once
which each would give a tick. 
Or wait for the maintenance release.

Okay, thanks for the suggestions, I'll give them a try. It also looks like even with the CALC workaround (from earlier in the thread), the CV outputs remain in a single octave.
I'm trying to map a main trigger to fire the cv16 envelopes but it doesn't seem to happen, I have

"TRIG TR 1 > CV16 EV1X 1- 5" in a mapping row but there seems to be no voltage change on cv16 output 5. In fact it doesn't seem anything will trigger the env to fire
(12-22-2023, 11:50 AM)TheSandbag Wrote: [ -> ]I'm trying to map a main trigger to fire the cv16 envelopes but it doesn't seem to happen, I have

"TRIG TR 1  > CV16 EV1X 1-  5" in a mapping row but there seems to be no voltage change on cv16 output 5. In fact it doesn't seem anything will trigger the env to fire

The EV1X (GATE) or EV1O (Trigger) commands do fire the envelope. For a trigger you better use the O command.
Your envelopes are most probably not set up yet (no CV16 track assigned) and then the main settings are not initialized.
So assign a track to CV16 and it will work.

I will add the initialization in the maintenance update.
It appears Trig/CV expanders cannot be selected as source in Mappings? I was hoping to map gate on/off sequenced in Trig16 track to mute/unmute a different track. This works fine with Trig out 1-6, but not available from expanders?
(12-22-2023, 06:55 PM)kriskeyman Wrote: [ -> ]It appears Trig/CV expanders cannot be selected as source in Mappings? I was hoping to map gate on/off sequenced in Trig16 track to mute/unmute a different track. This works fine with Trig out 1-6, but not available from expanders?

No, because the expanders are generating the values themselves and there is no feedback to the NerdSEQ.
To directly answer that question: monitoring 16x4 possible additional values at a usable speed is technically not possible.
Pages: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10