XOR Userforum

Full Version: Mapping Discussion
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
(09-14-2024, 07:57 AM)theb_roll Wrote: [ -> ]Thanks so much for the response!  That works perfect!  Good to know it's best not to use a source as a destination.  It makes sense when you say it out loud like that. ha. Better to use a free destination.  I'm going to keep trying to figure out how to map these seemingly basic but useful sequencing functions.  I might be back with more questions.  Thanks again!  Love the Nerdseq!


edit*

I think I may have found a bit of an issue in the above Precision Adder mapping.  In the case of adding notes from CV1 and CV2 it works correctly, except by 1 semi-tone.  If you add C0 to C0 it works as expected.  Nothing is added.  But if you add C1 to C0 you need to change it to C#1 + C0 to add up to an octave.  Does that make sense?

Oh sorry my mistake. Pitch2Note (and the other way around) is always combined with a rounding error.
Using the notes directy is actually better:
00 TRCK TRK1 NOTE >
01 TRCK TRK2 NOTE >
02 CALC ADD  0001 > CV NOTE MOD1
How can I modify the note length for a MIDI track as a destination in Mappings? I usually use Kill All in patches for this, but it doesn’t seem that I can set Kill All for a patch as a destination. What would be the ideal approach for this?
(10-01-2024, 05:47 PM)kriskeyman Wrote: [ -> ]How can I modify the note length for a MIDI track as a destination in Mappings? I usually use Kill All in patches for this, but it doesn’t seem that I can set Kill All for a patch as a destination. What would be the ideal approach for this?

You can't choose a patch as a destination, neither a kill or anything else which is only dedicated to a column in a Midi track.

I would try to overrule the FX payload from a mapping. So you have the kill in the FX lane and you overrule the value from the mappings.
Hey guys - Maybe someone here can point me in the direction of what I want to do.

I have an external sequencer wired to CV 1 and CV 2 in for pitch and gate respectively. They are mapped onto CV1 TR1 no problem..

What if I just want this to be active for some patterns? I know I can execute a mapping row from the patterns, but I can't wrap my head around turning on and off those two mapping lines. I assume it must be something like SKIP two lines unless something is true that I can set from the patterns, but can I set something from the patterns that aren't also executed normally?

EDIT: Nevermind, I literally had to look at it for one more minute before I grasped the logic of it.
(10-04-2024, 06:22 PM)visti Wrote: [ -> ]Hey guys - Maybe someone here can point me in the direction of what I want to do.

I have an external sequencer wired to CV 1 and CV 2 in for pitch and gate respectively. They are mapped onto CV1 TR1 no problem..

What if I just want this to be active for some patterns? I know I can execute a mapping row from the patterns, but I can't wrap my head around turning on and off those two mapping lines. I assume it must be something like SKIP two lines unless something is true that I can set from the patterns, but can I set something from the patterns that aren't also executed normally?

You are indeed very close to what you need to do (or could do, they are most probably multiple ways).
You ‘wrap’ your mapping around a skip. And the skip could be like skip x rows if variable A is not 0. And in 2 other rows you change variableA to 1 and to 0.

00 SKIP   03 =   VA=0    Skips 3 rows if variable A is 0
01 …
02 … your stuff
03 …
04 SKIP  02 =    =0=0    Always skip 2 rows.
05 VAR RW05  #000  >      SETV  VA  SRC    Set row to 0 and pass to variable A
06 VAR RW06  #001  >      SETV  VA  SRC    Set row to 1 and pass to variable A

You would execute one of these 2 rows from your pattern then via XMAP which enables or disables the stuff within the skip
(10-04-2024, 07:32 PM)XORadmin Wrote: [ -> ]
(10-04-2024, 06:22 PM)visti Wrote: [ -> ]Hey guys - Maybe someone here can point me in the direction of what I want to do.

I have an external sequencer wired to CV 1 and CV 2 in for pitch and gate respectively. They are mapped onto CV1 TR1 no problem..

What if I just want this to be active for some patterns? I know I can execute a mapping row from the patterns, but I can't wrap my head around turning on and off those two mapping lines. I assume it must be something like SKIP two lines unless something is true that I can set from the patterns, but can I set something from the patterns that aren't also executed normally?

You are indeed very close to what you need to do (or could do, they are most probably multiple ways).
You ‘wrap’ your mapping around a skip. And the skip could be like skip x rows if variable A is not 0. And in 2 other rows you change variableA to 1 and to 0.

00 SKIP   03 =   VA=0    Skips 3 rows if variable A is 0
01 …
02 … your stuff
03 …
04 SKIP  02 =    =0=0    Always skip 2 rows.
05 VAR RW05  #000  >      SETV  VA  SRC    Set row to 0 and pass to variable A
06 VAR RW06  #001  >      SETV  VA  SRC    Set row to 1 and pass to variable A

You would execute one of these 2 rows from your pattern then via XMAP which enables or disables the stuff within the skip

Thanks for the reply! That's exactly what I ended up doing - What was eluding me was having to put the variable definitions at the end and having them always be skipped, which totally makes sense.
(10-07-2024, 11:06 AM)visti Wrote: [ -> ]
(10-04-2024, 07:32 PM)XORadmin Wrote: [ -> ]
(10-04-2024, 06:22 PM)visti Wrote: [ -> ]Hey guys - Maybe someone here can point me in the direction of what I want to do.

I have an external sequencer wired to CV 1 and CV 2 in for pitch and gate respectively. They are mapped onto CV1 TR1 no problem..

What if I just want this to be active for some patterns? I know I can execute a mapping row from the patterns, but I can't wrap my head around turning on and off those two mapping lines. I assume it must be something like SKIP two lines unless something is true that I can set from the patterns, but can I set something from the patterns that aren't also executed normally?

You are indeed very close to what you need to do (or could do, they are most probably multiple ways).
You ‘wrap’ your mapping around a skip. And the skip could be like skip x rows if variable A is not 0. And in 2 other rows you change variableA to 1 and to 0.

00 SKIP   03 =   VA=0    Skips 3 rows if variable A is 0
01 …
02 … your stuff
03 …
04 SKIP  02 =    =0=0    Always skip 2 rows.
05 VAR RW05  #000  >      SETV  VA  SRC    Set row to 0 and pass to variable A
06 VAR RW06  #001  >      SETV  VA  SRC    Set row to 1 and pass to variable A

You would execute one of these 2 rows from your pattern then via XMAP which enables or disables the stuff within the skip

Thanks for the reply! That's exactly what I ended up doing - What was eluding me was having to put the variable definitions at the end and having them always be skipped, which totally makes sense.

Did this work out for you in the end?  I've been trying to implement something similar but ended up settling for using the MOD output of my channel to open/close a VCA in line with the gate and pitch inputs.  When I've used a mapping command to pass whatever's on CV1 to the pitch of a track and CV2 to triggers for a track I get weird results.  How's it going for you?  Can you share the mapping that you have working?
(10-09-2024, 03:33 AM)rubberband Wrote: [ -> ]
(10-07-2024, 11:06 AM)visti Wrote: [ -> ]
(10-04-2024, 07:32 PM)XORadmin Wrote: [ -> ]
(10-04-2024, 06:22 PM)visti Wrote: [ -> ]Hey guys - Maybe someone here can point me in the direction of what I want to do.

I have an external sequencer wired to CV 1 and CV 2 in for pitch and gate respectively. They are mapped onto CV1 TR1 no problem..

What if I just want this to be active for some patterns? I know I can execute a mapping row from the patterns, but I can't wrap my head around turning on and off those two mapping lines. I assume it must be something like SKIP two lines unless something is true that I can set from the patterns, but can I set something from the patterns that aren't also executed normally?

You are indeed very close to what you need to do (or could do, they are most probably multiple ways).
You ‘wrap’ your mapping around a skip. And the skip could be like skip x rows if variable A is not 0. And in 2 other rows you change variableA to 1 and to 0.

00 SKIP   03 =   VA=0    Skips 3 rows if variable A is 0
01 …
02 … your stuff
03 …
04 SKIP  02 =    =0=0    Always skip 2 rows.
05 VAR RW05  #000  >      SETV  VA  SRC    Set row to 0 and pass to variable A
06 VAR RW06  #001  >      SETV  VA  SRC    Set row to 1 and pass to variable A

You would execute one of these 2 rows from your pattern then via XMAP which enables or disables the stuff within the skip

Thanks for the reply! That's exactly what I ended up doing - What was eluding me was having to put the variable definitions at the end and having them always be skipped, which totally makes sense.

Did this work out for you in the end?  I've been trying to implement something similar but ended up settling for using the MOD output of my channel to open/close a VCA in line with the gate and pitch inputs.  When I've used a mapping command to pass whatever's on CV1 to the pitch of a track and CV2 to triggers for a track I get weird results.  How's it going for you?  Can you share the mapping that you have working?

It does work. If it doesn't work then your map has maybe a 'bug' ;-)  Or the CV inputs are not calibrated correctly. I just tested it again.
(10-09-2024, 07:49 PM)XORadmin Wrote: [ -> ]
(10-09-2024, 03:33 AM)rubberband Wrote: [ -> ]
(10-07-2024, 11:06 AM)visti Wrote: [ -> ]
(10-04-2024, 07:32 PM)XORadmin Wrote: [ -> ]
(10-04-2024, 06:22 PM)visti Wrote: [ -> ]Hey guys - Maybe someone here can point me in the direction of what I want to do.

I have an external sequencer wired to CV 1 and CV 2 in for pitch and gate respectively. They are mapped onto CV1 TR1 no problem..

What if I just want this to be active for some patterns? I know I can execute a mapping row from the patterns, but I can't wrap my head around turning on and off those two mapping lines. I assume it must be something like SKIP two lines unless something is true that I can set from the patterns, but can I set something from the patterns that aren't also executed normally?

You are indeed very close to what you need to do (or could do, they are most probably multiple ways).
You ‘wrap’ your mapping around a skip. And the skip could be like skip x rows if variable A is not 0. And in 2 other rows you change variableA to 1 and to 0.

00 SKIP   03 =   VA=0    Skips 3 rows if variable A is 0
01 …
02 … your stuff
03 …
04 SKIP  02 =    =0=0    Always skip 2 rows.
05 VAR RW05  #000  >      SETV  VA  SRC    Set row to 0 and pass to variable A
06 VAR RW06  #001  >      SETV  VA  SRC    Set row to 1 and pass to variable A

You would execute one of these 2 rows from your pattern then via XMAP which enables or disables the stuff within the skip

Thanks for the reply! That's exactly what I ended up doing - What was eluding me was having to put the variable definitions at the end and having them always be skipped, which totally makes sense.

Did this work out for you in the end?  I've been trying to implement something similar but ended up settling for using the MOD output of my channel to open/close a VCA in line with the gate and pitch inputs.  When I've used a mapping command to pass whatever's on CV1 to the pitch of a track and CV2 to triggers for a track I get weird results.  How's it going for you?  Can you share the mapping that you have working?

It does work. If it doesn't work then your map has maybe a 'bug' ;-)  Or the CV inputs are not calibrated correctly. I just tested it again.

I think my problem is both those things!  I'll try again and will but my code up in a post if I can't get it to work.  I get the control logic part, where I'm getting stuck is the actual line to pass CV inputs to tracks.  Wouldn't I need an XMAP command on every pattern row?

I think I need to calibrate too - If I pass pitch and gate from CV inputs 1 and 2 through to say track 1 CV1 and Trigger1, everything works.  But if I then record on track 1 from that same input, all the notes are a semitone too high.   Huh  I'll try recalibrating everything, and will also run some signals through the scope.  My sequencers are all -5 to +5  so I'm passing their pitch outputs through a Jornalogue Bias +5v precision adder module first.
(10-10-2024, 02:33 PM)rubberband Wrote: [ -> ]
(10-09-2024, 07:49 PM)XORadmin Wrote: [ -> ]
(10-09-2024, 03:33 AM)rubberband Wrote: [ -> ]
(10-07-2024, 11:06 AM)visti Wrote: [ -> ]
(10-04-2024, 07:32 PM)XORadmin Wrote: [ -> ]You are indeed very close to what you need to do (or could do, they are most probably multiple ways).
You ‘wrap’ your mapping around a skip. And the skip could be like skip x rows if variable A is not 0. And in 2 other rows you change variableA to 1 and to 0.

00 SKIP   03 =   VA=0    Skips 3 rows if variable A is 0
01 …
02 … your stuff
03 …
04 SKIP  02 =    =0=0    Always skip 2 rows.
05 VAR RW05  #000  >      SETV  VA  SRC    Set row to 0 and pass to variable A
06 VAR RW06  #001  >      SETV  VA  SRC    Set row to 1 and pass to variable A

You would execute one of these 2 rows from your pattern then via XMAP which enables or disables the stuff within the skip

Thanks for the reply! That's exactly what I ended up doing - What was eluding me was having to put the variable definitions at the end and having them always be skipped, which totally makes sense.

Did this work out for you in the end?  I've been trying to implement something similar but ended up settling for using the MOD output of my channel to open/close a VCA in line with the gate and pitch inputs.  When I've used a mapping command to pass whatever's on CV1 to the pitch of a track and CV2 to triggers for a track I get weird results.  How's it going for you?  Can you share the mapping that you have working?

It does work. If it doesn't work then your map has maybe a 'bug' ;-)  Or the CV inputs are not calibrated correctly. I just tested it again.

I think my problem is both those things!  I'll try again and will but my code up in a post if I can't get it to work.  

If I pass pitch and gate from CV inputs 1 and 2 through to say track 1 CV1 and Trigger1, everything works.  But if I then record on track 1 from that same input, all the notes are a semitone too high.   Huh  I'll try recalibrating everything, and will also run some signals through the scope.  My sequencers are all -5 to +5  so I'm passing their pitch outputs through a Jornalogue Bias +5v precision adder module first.

But record is not related to the mapping sources? The mapping cv inputs are an own thing.
Pages: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10