XOR Userforum

Full Version: New Firmware 1.16 Preview
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
I put this firmware and I have a lot of problems with the old tracks.
An empty 00 pattern has inside notes and effects.
The patterns with the break command were replaced by the command No 2.
(06-01-2018, 05:05 AM)Uoki-Toki Wrote: [ -> ]I put this firmware and I have a lot of problems with the old tracks.
An empty 00 pattern has inside notes and effects.
The patterns with the break command were replaced by the command No 2.

As i said in the post: "Saving from this version is not compatible with older versions and vice versa. (Loading from old projects will be fine with the release version of course)"

It's a preview version to play with the new functions and it is not compatible with old projects yet.
(05-31-2018, 10:59 PM)Mooko Wrote: [ -> ]OH YES LFO LFO's
many thanks for your work
but I don't understand where can I assign LFO

Yes here a small explanation on how to use the automators.

In the automator screens you have 8 rows. These are the automator slots. On the most left position you can assign a function (like the LFO) to the automator. (SHIFT+ Left/Right). Right from that you can start and stop the automator.
And right from that is the modulation Matrix. Here you have 8 columns which represent the 8 tracks ( 6 CV/Gate and the 2 sample tracks).
Those are the destination points of the matrix.
So the Slot (with the function) is the source and on the right you set a destination to a track. For example, if you choose the LFO and set the value 00 on the slot row for track 1, the output of the LFO is modulating the CV output of track 1. They are many desinations, you can see the destinationtype when you are with the cursor over it in the statusfield. Thats all for the basics, you can assign multiple slots to the same destination.
You use the DOWN button to change the modulator values and UP again to get back to the slot/matrix selection.
And there is more which you can discover yourself for now. Just as a info, the range of the LFO and the Clock can have another slot as input. (FM and AM)
The Noise needs a higher speed nearby FFF to get full speed. Also, the LFO output center is 0 which means that it can modulate your output in the positive and the negative way. If it's below the lowest value, it will just cut it off. You might have to change the offset then or change the modulation output (eg the the note to C-5 to be in the middle of the full range).
Small explanation to the destinations:
Track 1..6:
CV,MOD : manipulates (adds) to the outputs. If a automator is turned off again, the real value is back.
Trigger Length: manipulates (overrules) the next trigger in the pattern in length
Trigger Delay: manipulates (overrules) the next trigger in the pattern in delay, so the next trigger will be delayed a bit (like if you would put in 01, 02, 03 etc in the trigger column.
FX1..FX4 overrule: Overrules the next FX value in the pattern
Step overrule: Overrules the pattern step
CV/MOD Glide/Glide Steps: changes the glide settings, be aware, it really changes it's value. You might have to set it back when you are not using the modulator anymore.
The Probabilities: changes the probability of the destination. Also here the real probability value is overwritten and you might have to set it back afterwards.

Sample Tracks:
Pitch: modulate the pitch of the current sample
Volume: modulate the volume
Bitcrush: modulate the bitcrush    (you might have to set it back afterwards)
Distortion: modulate the distortion   (you might have to set it back afterwards)
Position: modulate the sample position
Overrule Offset: There is no function behind that, position does this job already and it will be changed to something else
Overrule FX1..4: Overrules the next FX value in the pattern
Overrule Steps: Overrules the pattern step
Probability: manipulates the probability settings of the destination (you might have to set it back afterwards)
For the samples, an example how to archieve time-stretching of a sample for the pattern length:
LFO. sample track destination to 'position 1'
Speed: 01
Offset: 0
Invert: No
Clock: Tick
Range: F7 (if the complete sample has sound, else a bit smaller and maybe change the offset
Wave: Sawtooth
Bit: 16
Phase: 801

When you start a sample on a pattern now on the first row, it will last for the pattern length. (Be aware that this is not comparable to fancy VST sample time-stretching, but still its fun and coo oo oo oo oo oo ll  ll  ll ) You want to stretch shorter, then raise the speed a bit
And of course there is much more to discover with that....

Also you can use a CV input as a source and route it to any destination or to another slot input.

At last, be aware that the modulators can never replace a real LFO or envelope etc. But they are for sure good usable for the most needs and more than good enough for cool effects and much fun!

And before i forget it, all parameters of a modulator can be also set from the FX column at any time with the use of the ASL0..7 FX function.
First digit is the Modulator function and 2nd is the value while values are reduced to 8 bit here (scaled to the max function value of course)

Some parts might be changed slightly for the final release.
wooohooo ! sounds great....sadly i´m on vacation til next wednesday....but then Smile
Can I route those LFOs outside via the MOD output?
(06-03-2018, 09:10 AM)matsmile Wrote: [ -> ]Can I route those LFOs outside via the MOD output?

Of course, you can route all automators to the outputs as well of course. In your case just use the MOD as destination in the modulation matrix (function 01 in the tracks 1..6)...and even better you can route multiple LFO to one output for example and much more....
this may be a silly question but.. how do I start and stop an automation? I set one up and can't seem to get it to output.. Sorry if this was mentioned and I missed it.

edit: figured it out! didn't see the icon..
You just press OK or SHIFT+LEFT/RIGHT next to the automation slot to start/stop it.
Then it will run. And if you choosed a destination right from it for a track, the automation output should go to this destination.
(06-03-2018, 09:16 AM)XORadmin Wrote: [ -> ]
(06-03-2018, 09:10 AM)matsmile Wrote: [ -> ]Can I route those LFOs outside via the MOD output?

Of course, you can route all automators to the outputs as well of course. In your case just use the MOD as destination in the modulation matrix (function 01 in the tracks 1..6)...and even better you can route multiple LFO to one output for example and much more....
What will happened to the existing MOD values on this track
and there will be atenuator, offset, invert, glide and quantizer for cv input? Smile
Pages: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7