The following warnings occurred:
Warning [2] Undefined property: MyLanguage::$archive_pages - Line: 2 - File: printthread.php(287) : eval()'d code PHP 8.1.24 (Linux)
File Line Function
/inc/class_error.php 153 errorHandler->error
/printthread.php(287) : eval()'d code 2 errorHandler->error_callback
/printthread.php 287 eval
/printthread.php 117 printthread_multipage



XOR Userforum
Controlling vca via envelopes - help - Printable Version

+- XOR Userforum (https://xor-electronics.com/forum)
+-- Forum: Products (https://xor-electronics.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?fid=3)
+--- Forum: NerdSEQ (https://xor-electronics.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?fid=6)
+---- Forum: General Questions (https://xor-electronics.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?fid=17)
+---- Thread: Controlling vca via envelopes - help (/showthread.php?tid=1271)

Pages: 1 2 3


Controlling vca via envelopes - help - Paprika - 11-24-2021

Hello,

I'm trying to send adsr via an envelope to a Doepfer A-130-8 Octal Linear VCA.

I have the envelope set up as env1 in the envelope window, I have set it as env1 in the FX 1 column in the pattern screen. I have a cable going from the mod out to the cv in of the VCA but i'm not getting much change to the volume. I tried setting env1 to the right number mod out in the envelope window. I've set env1 value to 102 (and tried 103) but I'm not getting results.

I guess there is something I'm missing or not understanding. I've hunted through the manual (but I am a bit dyslexic so may have missed the info). Any help really appreciated.


RE: Controlling vca via envelopes - help - XORadmin - 11-24-2021

Just to be sure, you talking about the envelope window, not the automator window, right?

The destination got to be the MOD output then. The easiest would be to set the source to Gate1 (if track 1). Now when playing a note the gate is being set, starting the envelope. And a note off / gate off, releasing the envelope (if set to AD-SR). One Shot would work as well, but you need to reset the gate.

It might be that you need to change the offset switch for the MOD outputs. Having it on the right should be fine in most cases.


RE: Controlling vca via envelopes - help - Paprika - 11-24-2021

Hey, thanks for the rapid reply.

Yep Envelope window, not automator.

I'll follow that advice, it may be that I wasn't resetting the gate, I'll try AD-SR.

Thank you

I did that and it just very slowly decreases in volume, which I guess is something to do with the envelope time being really slow?


RE: Controlling vca via envelopes - help - mgd - 11-25-2021

What are the settings you chose for the envelope?
What is the output voltage switch set to? left (-5V - +5V) or right (0 - +10V)?


RE: Controlling vca via envelopes - help - Paprika - 11-25-2021

(11-25-2021, 08:16 AM)mgd Wrote: What are the settings you chose for the envelope?
What is the output voltage switch set to? left (-5V - +5V) or right (0 - +10V)?

It's to the right +10. If I set it to the left it drops off entirely.

I'll try and make a short video this evening to share everything I'm doing, no doubt I've not understood something basic or I'm trying to get the VCA to do something it wont do.


RE: Controlling vca via envelopes - help - XORadmin - 11-25-2021

(11-25-2021, 10:36 AM)Paprika Wrote:
(11-25-2021, 08:16 AM)mgd Wrote: What are the settings you chose for the envelope?
What is the output voltage switch set to? left (-5V - +5V) or right (0 - +10V)?

It's to the right +10. If I set it to the left it drops off entirely.

I'll try and make a short video this evening to share everything I'm doing, no doubt I've not understood something basic or I'm trying to get the VCA to do something it wont do.

The envelope time is from milliseconds to multiple seconds. So it is either your envelope settings or maybe glide turned on or so?


RE: Controlling vca via envelopes - help - Paprika - 11-25-2021

I made a quick vid here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NqU35vKQ73w hopefully its obvious from this what I'm doing wrong?

I'll look to see if glide is turned on.


RE: Controlling vca via envelopes - help - XORadmin - 11-25-2021

Your attack is set to the slowest.

Use the same values as the second envelope and you will find out :-)

And delete the envelope commands in the FX lane, these are not needed when the source is 'Gate'.
When the first note comes, then the gate is set automatically (if auto gate is turned on, else use a Trigger with FE) on the note row.
Before the 2nd note you need to either add a note off or a trigger 00 because else there will be no proper release phase of the envelope (except for one-shot)


RE: Controlling vca via envelopes - help - mgd - 11-25-2021

FWIW I have a project that makes extensive use of the envelopes (also feeding into an A-130-8) and while the envelopes have a few quirks (my most annoying being the forced drop to zero upon restart which easily results in clicks) in principle it works like a charm.


RE: Controlling vca via envelopes - help - Paprika - 11-25-2021

I tried it, but it didn't make any difference Sad sorry.

(11-25-2021, 11:44 AM)mgd Wrote: FWIW I have a project that makes extensive use of the envelopes (also feeding into an A-130-8) and while the envelopes have a few quirks (my most annoying being the forced drop to zero upon restart which easily results in clicks) in principle it works like a charm.

Ah thank you. I was close to selling it and getting something with the adsr built in. But I really like the idea of how the Octal could really compliment the nerd seq!