The following warnings occurred:
Warning [2] Undefined property: MyLanguage::$archive_pages - Line: 2 - File: printthread.php(287) : eval()'d code PHP 8.1.24 (Linux)
File Line Function
/inc/class_error.php 153 errorHandler->error
/printthread.php(287) : eval()'d code 2 errorHandler->error_callback
/printthread.php 287 eval
/printthread.php 117 printthread_multipage



XOR Userforum
More CV Expander? - Printable Version

+- XOR Userforum (https://xor-electronics.com/forum)
+-- Forum: Products (https://xor-electronics.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?fid=3)
+--- Forum: NerdSEQ (https://xor-electronics.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?fid=6)
+---- Forum: NerdSEQ Expanders (https://xor-electronics.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?fid=22)
+---- Thread: More CV Expander? (/showthread.php?tid=504)

Pages: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14


RE: More CV Expander? - mgd - 03-27-2021

(03-27-2021, 05:59 PM)sak-rwsd Wrote: In terms of the last part, I hope I can figure that out, as I mostly want to be able to plug in some modules and use the More CV 16 as a programmable CV source for modulation.  I feel like I must be doing something dumb, entering values (notes or hexadecimal) on the Ext CV doesn’t seem to output any change (but the LFO works).  Previously, has been working fine with the Main CV outs, though I too have only made limited use of this.  Will keep on fiddling around!  

Hi Khenu,

I played with this a bit. Basically when I treat the column as normal note CV column and set note values C-0, C-1, C-2, ... I see voltages 0V, 1V, 2V, ... on the corresponding CV16 output (switch to 0-10V).

Is that not what you want?

Kind regards,
Michael


RE: More CV Expander? - XORadmin - 03-27-2021

(03-27-2021, 05:59 PM)sak-rwsd Wrote:
(03-27-2021, 09:43 AM)mgd Wrote:
(03-27-2021, 07:37 AM)sak-rwsd Wrote: [snip]
I have it set up on Track 5 and have a couple of questions:

One, I don’t understand the difference between “Track CV 5” and “Loc CV 5” (and similar Track X versus Local X Mod).  These seem the same to me, but there must be some difference I don’t understand.  

Loc CV 5 is CV Output 5 of the NerdSEQ main module
Track CV (I don't see a 5 on mine) is the CV Output of the NerdSEQ main module of the track you are on. So on track 5 it is equal to Loc CV 5 and on track 4 it is equal to Loc CV 4. Analog with Mod.

It is documented on page 83 of the V1.23 manual.

(03-27-2021, 07:37 AM)sak-rwsd Wrote: Two, if I want to send note information as well as a trigger on the same step, what I’ve done is assign columns/destination 1 and 2 each to Track CV.  One has the note info and the other, I use TT2 (just triggers).  Just want to start off with good practice, and to see if this is the best way to go about it?

That is a question I too asked earlier this year and got no answer. I'm currently using ^11 and ^16 for gates. If I were to use triggers I'd probably go for the TT* as well.

I have no answer to your last question since I have yet to start playing with that part  Smile

Kind regards,
Michael

Thanks Michael,

Yes, I did see that in the manual, but as it seems to me that the two effectively mirror each other - i.e. at least in my limited use, it seemed I could choose either Loc 1-6 or Track 1-6 irregardless of the track I’m on - I just wanted to see if there was any other difference that I wasn’t getting.  I think if I could only choose the Local track with Loc CV and the others with Trk CV, it would be straightforward to me.

In terms of the last part, I hope I can figure that out, as I mostly want to be able to plug in some modules and use the More CV 16 as a programmable CV source for modulation.  I feel like I must be doing something dumb, entering values (notes or hexadecimal) on the Ext CV doesn’t seem to output any change (but the LFO works).  Previously, has been working fine with the Main CV outs, though I too have only made limited use of this.  Will keep on fiddling around!  

I mostly enjoy tweaking knobs and throwing the Voltage Block into the mix, but then, as my modules have increased, I only have so many hands and so though I would try to program it a bit.  I also get different sounds and textures when sequencing the modulation.

Best, 

Khenu

I guess you want to have some CV values while having the LFO running 'around' it? If that is the case you got to set the Add/Pure settings to Add.
If set to pure, then the LFO would run pure around the 5 volt midpoint. If set to Add, is goes bipolar around the selected CV voltage or note.


RE: More CV Expander? - sak-rwsd - 03-28-2021

(03-27-2021, 07:19 PM)mgd Wrote:
(03-27-2021, 05:59 PM)sak-rwsd Wrote: In terms of the last part, I hope I can figure that out, as I mostly want to be able to plug in some modules and use the More CV 16 as a programmable CV source for modulation.  I feel like I must be doing something dumb, entering values (notes or hexadecimal) on the Ext CV doesn’t seem to output any change (but the LFO works).  Previously, has been working fine with the Main CV outs, though I too have only made limited use of this.  Will keep on fiddling around!  

Hi Khenu,

I played with this a bit. Basically when I treat the column as normal note CV column and set note values C-0, C-1, C-2, ... I see voltages 0V, 1V, 2V, ... on the corresponding CV16 output (switch to 0-10V).

Is that not what you want?

Kind regards,
Michael

Hi Michael, 

Thanks man, for testing it out.  That’s exactly what I want and it was driving me crazy that sending a C-9 (switch to 0-10 V) didn’t seem to do what cranking the knob (in this case Release 2 on Akemie’s Taiko) to the right did.  

As it’s an offset knob (Akemies), I had it turned all the way CCW and thought that the CV from my CV16 should just add and rotate the knob so to speak.  Thought it would work, but didn’t seem to change anything.  So, I thought no voltage was going through.  

Then I tried the LFO and it worked, so voltage is coming out.  

I finally realized that the black knob underneath is an attenuverter and needs to be turned fully CW for the signal to be unchanged!  Now it works just fine, with C-0 giving me the knob full CCW, C-4 giving me noon, C-9 giving me full CW.  

Some of it doesn’t quite add up for me (as the Akemie’s manual says the CV input for this knob with attenuverter expects -5 to +5 v, but it’s the 0 to 10 - More CV switch to right - that seems give me full range, with Akemie’s knob full CCW and attenuverter full CW).  

I think I just need to bite the bullet & invest in an oscilloscope!  

Thanks again.  Feel like it should be smooth sailing from here with the More CV!


RE: More CV Expander? - mgd - 03-28-2021

(03-28-2021, 04:38 AM)sak-rwsd Wrote: I finally realized that the black knob underneath is an attenuverter and needs to be turned fully CW for the signal to be unchanged!  Now it works just fine, with C-0 giving me the knob full CCW, C-4 giving me noon, C-9 giving me full CW.  

Glad you solved it. Taking a look at your problem actually helped me understand my CV16 a little better Cool 
That's actually something I learned over the last couple of weeks:
When someone posts a problem in this forum that I do not understand and/or have encountered yet then working on it guides me into "unexplored" territory and teaches me something about this tool. Most of the time I learn new ways to do things and that I really like!

As a sidenote:
To get 10V you have to enter C-A. C-9 will give you 9V "only".

(03-28-2021, 04:38 AM)sak-rwsd Wrote: I think I just need to bite the bullet & invest in an oscilloscope! 

For me it is my most important debugging tool. I us both a Mordax DATA and a vpme.de Zeroscope. The former has the bigger and better screen while the later has a better time resolution.

And then there is an external Scope for really difficult stuff  Smile

(03-28-2021, 04:38 AM)sak-rwsd Wrote: Feel like it should be smooth sailing from here with the More CV!

My second CV16 is on its way to me (currently somewhere between The Netherlands and Germany...), together with my MIDI expander which then opens another new door to unchartered territory...and the prerequisite for the planned launchpad Cool

Kind regards,
Michael


RE: More CV Expander? - mvdirty - 03-28-2021

(03-28-2021, 08:34 AM)mgd Wrote:
(03-28-2021, 04:38 AM)sak-rwsd Wrote: I think I just need to bite the bullet & invest in an oscilloscope! 

For me it is my most important debugging tool. I us both a Mordax DATA and a vpme.de Zeroscope. The former has the bigger and better screen while the later has a better time resolution.

Just chiming in quickly to reiterate that a scope, in or out of the rack, is such an absolute win. Time saved, pain avoided, more things learned, etc. Definitely worth making space for one.


RE: More CV Expander? - mntbighker - 03-31-2021

I have recently added an O'Tool scope after a long painful wait, looking for ANY scope of any kind either new or used. They seem almost impossible to find. But I agree they are invaluable to have.


RE: More CV Expander? - sak-rwsd - 03-31-2021

Everytime I’ve watch as Divkid video, I’ve wanted to pick up that Mordax Data!  I tried the scope in VCV rack, which didn’t seem as good, but maybe I just didn’t know how to use it.  It did serve it’s purpose at the time.  I’m 3 HP shy of filling my 6u and 3u Rackbrutes, so gonna need a new case before I pick up a Data.  Will research external scopes in the meanwhile.  I asked my dad, who’s an electrical engineer what they use at his University, but he felt they were mostly using software.  He’s more of a mathematical guy, rather than in the lab, so might not really know.   Anyway, thanks!

P.S.
Synchronistically, just saw that Os has is adding a scope to the Disting EX.  Small screen, but wonder if it could be sufficient?  Sorry if this is getting too off topic!


RE: More CV Expander? - mntbighker - 04-07-2021

Is it a correct statement that once a track is assigned to an expander (required) you can send pitch/gate/mod from the assigned expander track back to the outputs you just masked with FX. But you cannot send pitch/gate/mod from regular tracks to the expanders? So if you assign CV16 to track 6, you can still send output to the track 6 pitch/gate/mod outputs via FX from ANY track pattern. But you can't send anything to the CV16 (track 6) outputs from anywhere other than track 6?


RE: More CV Expander? - XORadmin - 04-07-2021

(04-07-2021, 05:50 AM)mntbighker Wrote: Is it a correct statement that once a track is assigned to an expander (required) you can send pitch/gate/mod from the assigned expander track back to the outputs you just masked with FX. But you cannot send pitch/gate/mod from regular tracks to the expanders? So if you assign CV16 to track 6, you can still send output to the track 6 pitch/gate/mod outputs via FX from ANY track pattern. But you can't send anything to the CV16 (track 6) outputs from anywhere other than track 6?

Yes totally correct. That’s because there is no way to get that much information into a FX field to properly do that.


RE: More CV Expander? - mntbighker - 04-08-2021

(04-07-2021, 06:08 AM)XORadmin Wrote:
(04-07-2021, 05:50 AM)mntbighker Wrote: Is it a correct statement that once a track is assigned to an expander (required) you can send pitch/gate/mod from the assigned expander track back to the outputs you just masked with FX. But you cannot send pitch/gate/mod from regular tracks to the expanders? So if you assign CV16 to track 6, you can still send output to the track 6 pitch/gate/mod outputs via FX from ANY track pattern. But you can't send anything to the CV16 (track 6) outputs from anywhere other than track 6?

Yes totally correct. That’s because there is no way to get that much information into a FX field to properly do that.

OK, well I can't say I'm happy about that. But at least I'm not making idiot statements, and I'm starting to wrap my head around the interface  Cool