The following warnings occurred:
Warning [2] Undefined property: MyLanguage::$archive_pages - Line: 2 - File: printthread.php(287) : eval()'d code PHP 8.1.24 (Linux)
File Line Function
/inc/class_error.php 153 errorHandler->error
/printthread.php(287) : eval()'d code 2 errorHandler->error_callback
/printthread.php 287 eval
/printthread.php 117 printthread_multipage



XOR Userforum
Release Candidate Firmware V1.24 RC12 - Printable Version

+- XOR Userforum (https://xor-electronics.com/forum)
+-- Forum: Products (https://xor-electronics.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?fid=3)
+--- Forum: NerdSEQ (https://xor-electronics.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?fid=6)
+---- Forum: Firmware / Manual (https://xor-electronics.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?fid=11)
+---- Thread: Release Candidate Firmware V1.24 RC12 (/showthread.php?tid=987)

Pages: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16


RE: Release Candidate Firmware V1.24 RC11 - Karlo - 03-21-2021

So the midi response on modular tracks is greatly improved, but I'm still getting some weird record step quantization on my MIDI track. I know my playing isn't that horrible, is it possible the aftertouch could still be adversely affecting the MIDI recording on MIDI tracks?


RE: Release Candidate Firmware V1.24 RC11 - sak-rwsd - 03-21-2021

I spent some time dialing in modulation yesterday and realized that on the MIDI tracks, it doesn’t show the decimal value (in the box to the bottom right) for items in the FX tracks (e.g. modulation values). It displays all these values elsewhere, including FX columns in modular tracks.

Also, is there any way to show note values for modulation in the MIDI FX tracks (for instance when I’m sequencing a synth by MIDI, but using the CV/Mod outputs through FX to modulate some of it’s parameters which I can’t access via MIDI)?

I find that easier to work with for values, though if I was able to see the decimal equivalent that would be good enough. Otherwise, I’ve ended up pulling out a Hex to Decimal calculator here and there.

Otherwise, it’s been a delight modulating via NERDSEQ. Just put in an order for the more CV! With the MIDI, I even have the NERDSEQ controlling faders in my Ableton set, just for fun (obviously the resolution will be more limited than if I automate from within Ableton itself).


RE: Release Candidate Firmware V1.24 RC11 - XORadmin - 03-21-2021

(03-21-2021, 05:41 PM)Karlo Wrote: So the midi response on modular tracks is greatly improved, but I'm still getting some weird record step quantization on my MIDI track. I know my playing isn't that horrible, is it possible the aftertouch could still be adversely affecting the MIDI recording on MIDI tracks?

The midi response didn’t change with this or earlier releases. There was a fix with aftertouch from some gear.
Aftertouch can generate a large amount of data. So if you record that it is surely possible that the FX columns are filled too much. Not sure if that can affect any delays in your playing. Note on/off always appear on the step where it happens.


RE: Release Candidate Firmware V1.24 RC11 - XORadmin - 03-21-2021

(03-21-2021, 06:14 PM)sak-rwsd Wrote: I spent some time dialing in modulation yesterday and realized that on the MIDI tracks, it doesn’t show the decimal value (in the box to the bottom right) for items in the FX tracks (e.g. modulation values).  It displays all these values elsewhere, including FX columns in modular tracks.  

Also, is there any way to show note values for modulation in the MIDI FX tracks (for instance when I’m sequencing a synth by MIDI, but using the CV/Mod outputs through FX to modulate some of it’s parameters which I can’t access via MIDI)?  

I find that easier to work with for values, though if I was able to see the decimal equivalent that would be good enough.  Otherwise, I’ve ended up pulling out a Hex to Decimal calculator here and there.

Otherwise, it’s been a delight modulating via NERDSEQ.  Just put in an order for the more CV!  With the MIDI, I even have the NERDSEQ controlling faders in my Ableton set, just for fun (obviously the resolution will be more limited than if I automate from within Ableton itself).

Oh, i got to check where the decimal values are missing.

There is only the CV/MOD fx and no note FX. You could use one of the midi columns to play that CV output with notes. Maybe a extension for the CV/MOD commands to do also notes would make sense. Not for this release.


RE: Release Candidate Firmware V1.24 RC11 - Karlo - 03-21-2021

(03-21-2021, 06:19 PM)XORadmin Wrote:
(03-21-2021, 05:41 PM)Karlo Wrote: So the midi response on modular tracks is greatly improved, but I'm still getting some weird record step quantization on my MIDI track. I know my playing isn't that horrible, is it possible the aftertouch could still be adversely affecting the MIDI recording on MIDI tracks?

The midi response didn’t change with this or earlier releases. There was a fix with aftertouch from some gear.
Aftertouch can generate a large amount of data. So if you record that it is surely possible that the FX columns are filled too much. Not sure if that can affect any delays in your playing. Note on/off always appear on the step where it happens.

I guess I need to work on my keyboard skills some more!  Shy


RE: Release Candidate Firmware V1.24 RC11 - mewraz - 03-25-2021

Ratchet on the modular triggers (values above E0) is really nice and helpful! Is there any chance that they will make it in to the trigger expander as well?


RE: Release Candidate Firmware V1.24 RC11 - XORadmin - 03-25-2021

(03-25-2021, 07:23 AM)mewraz Wrote: Ratchet on the modular triggers (values above E0) is really nice and helpful! Is there any chance that they will make it in to the trigger expander as well?

Yes they will but not for this release.


RE: Release Candidate Firmware V1.24 RC11 - mewraz - 03-25-2021

Great, thanks. Looking forward to it!


RE: Release Candidate Firmware V1.24 RC11 - Terekki - 03-26-2021

Trying to record chords/triads via midi - can get it to accept notes into more than one column at a time - have the patch / track setting to 1+2+3+4 - am I missing something - cheers.


RE: Release Candidate Firmware V1.24 RC11 - XORadmin - 03-26-2021

(03-26-2021, 01:03 PM)Terekki Wrote: Trying to record chords/triads via midi - can get it to accept notes into more than one column at a time - have the patch / track setting to 1+2+3+4 - am I missing something - cheers.

If the Midi channel is set to Record into the track, you should be able to record indeed up to 4 note polyphony into the 4 columns. Midi input should be turned on as well.