The following warnings occurred:
Warning [2] Undefined property: MyLanguage::$archive_pages - Line: 2 - File: printthread.php(287) : eval()'d code PHP 8.1.24 (Linux)
File Line Function
/inc/class_error.php 153 errorHandler->error
/printthread.php(287) : eval()'d code 2 errorHandler->error_callback
/printthread.php 287 eval
/printthread.php 117 printthread_multipage



XOR Userforum
Release Candidate Firmware V1.24 RC12 - Printable Version

+- XOR Userforum (https://xor-electronics.com/forum)
+-- Forum: Products (https://xor-electronics.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?fid=3)
+--- Forum: NerdSEQ (https://xor-electronics.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?fid=6)
+---- Forum: Firmware / Manual (https://xor-electronics.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?fid=11)
+---- Thread: Release Candidate Firmware V1.24 RC12 (/showthread.php?tid=987)

Pages: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16


RE: Release Candidate Firmware V1.24 RC2 - XORadmin - 02-07-2021

(02-07-2021, 08:49 AM)XORadmin Wrote:
(02-07-2021, 06:41 AM)depaffect Wrote: This is amazing! I love the new probability functions.

Even though I already felt pretty confident with the FX,  i LOVE the FX Selekta! Feels so nice to have all the FX on a page; I will use this a LOT!

Thanks for this!!

edit - found a bug in tables i think - i'll put it in the bug report section

Quote:In the new 1.24 RC, something isn't quite right with clocking table ticks with the SPFX command

If I have SPFX011 clocking the table, it seems to ignore the first tick, sort of.

If there's three SPFX011 commands in a pattern, it only ever gets to the second tick of the table. And *i think* it plays the first row of the table twice.

Also, strangely, the first play of the pattern is different from the subsequent plays.

I can't quite work out exactly what is happening, but it's not quite right!

I moved the report here as this is not a release version. I will check it, but also did you have the same issue with earlier versions? I think I didn't touch the table handling at all.

I checked it and the behaviour is the same as in earlier versions. I got to check what exactly is going on here. It looks like it is ignoring the Table tick SPFX if it's in the same row as the table command itself. Not sure if this has something to do with the order or so. (FX are processed earlier than the table command). It works well if it's in another row.


RE: Release Candidate Firmware V1.24 RC2 - ipassenger - 02-07-2021

Awesome!


RE: Release Candidate Firmware V1.24 RC2 - depaffect - 02-08-2021

(02-07-2021, 06:56 PM)XORadmin Wrote:
(02-07-2021, 08:49 AM)XORadmin Wrote:
(02-07-2021, 06:41 AM)depaffect Wrote: This is amazing! I love the new probability functions.

Even though I already felt pretty confident with the FX,  i LOVE the FX Selekta! Feels so nice to have all the FX on a page; I will use this a LOT!

Thanks for this!!

edit - found a bug in tables i think - i'll put it in the bug report section

Quote:In the new 1.24 RC, something isn't quite right with clocking table ticks with the SPFX command

If I have SPFX011 clocking the table, it seems to ignore the first tick, sort of.

If there's three SPFX011 commands in a pattern, it only ever gets to the second tick of the table. And *i think* it plays the first row of the table twice.

Also, strangely, the first play of the pattern is different from the subsequent plays.

I can't quite work out exactly what is happening, but it's not quite right!

I moved the report here as this is not a release version. I will check it, but also did you have the same issue with earlier versions? I think I didn't touch the table handling at all.

I checked it and the behaviour is the same as in earlier versions. I got to check what exactly is going on here. It looks like it is ignoring the Table tick SPFX if it's in the same row as the table command itself. Not sure if this has something to do with the order or so. (FX are processed earlier than the table command). It works well if it's in another row.

Interesting! Didn't think I had this behaviour in the previous version but I guess I just didn't notice it.

It's quite odd - the first play it seems to apply the first step of the table, then the next tick also applies the first step of the table but TWICE. So if it's meant to transpose up 1 octave in the first step of the table, it steps up 1 octave and then 2 octaves!


RE: Release Candidate Firmware V1.24 RC2 - sak-rwsd - 02-08-2021

(02-07-2021, 11:22 AM)XORadmin Wrote:
(02-07-2021, 10:55 AM)sak-rwsd Wrote:
(02-07-2021, 08:58 AM)XORadmin Wrote:
Quote:sak-rwsd

I’ve finally set up my MIDI a bit ...

I moved this here ...

Hi Thomas, I didn’t have my Moog synths connected before this.  I had tried CV, but not MIDI.  I’ve rerouted my whole setup as of yesterday and am using a iConnectivity MIDIConnect, so have a lot of new MIDI connections as I’m trying a fully DAW-less setup for the first time, incorporating pedals and such as well.  

In terms of the track setup, I have MIDI Channel 1-8, set up as Track Record 1-8, respectively.  Track 6 is a MIDI track and I can choose MIDI Channel 6 on my Arturia Keystep and depending on what I choose on the “Record Columns” in the individual track setup, I can use the Keystep to play the different notes on the MIDI track, that in term go to a couple of Bitbox pads played chromatically (MIDI channel 7 and 8) , and then the Mother 32 which is listening on MIDI channel 1 (and which is the overrule for column 2 - MIDI channel 1).

I feel like it recording fine for the first sequence I recorded into a pattern.  But perhaps I didn’t notice, as I had it all running through pedals and a Hologram Electronics Microcosm.  Now, when I have everything off except for the Moog, it just plays the note I play and then a second note which is the last note played in the NERDSEQ sequence.  I can change the second note by stopping in different places in the pattern.

Sorry, not sure if that is relevant info or not, just trying to be thorough and still wrapping my head around all this!

That sounds quite complex for me right now. Can you reduce this to the one issue (like turning all midi channels off which are not related) and save the project, add it here and explain what i need to do to get the same result?
So I've saved the file as "Debug" and reduced it to one pattern only on track 6 (pattern 23).  Under note column #2, you will see a simple sequence intended to go to my Moog Mother 32 which is listening on MIDI channel #1 (via an overrule).  Before I play this pattern, I can play a note on my Mother 32 and it plays just that note (I'm playing with the synth's onboard keyboard). 

After I play this pattern (or even preview a single note without actually starting the pattern), my Mother 32 will play that note and another note.  It plays the first note in Note Column #1 which is sending to the base MIDI channel, in this case 7.  When I change this note from G4 to C4 and unplug and power up the Mother 32, after playing a note from this pattern, it now plays C4 without repeating, but then repeats C4 after playing any other note.  If I delete the note in column #1 (which should be sending to MIDI Channel 7, the base for this MIDI track) and restart my Mother 32, then there is no repeating note.  So somehow that information is crossing over, despite the Mother 32 intended to be listening on the overuled MIDI Channel #1 instead of #7.

Oddly, this will happen even when I subsequently unplug the MIDI from my Mother 32 (it is fine before I send MIDI from NERDSEQ).  If I unplug the Mother 32 synth and plug it back in, it works fine until I start a NERDSEQ pattern that sends MIDI to the Mother 32.  I never had this experience before when sequencing via Ableton, so it's not something repeating across contexts with the synth. 

I have another bug that just happened, where it will choose the item that is highlighted and it will be as if a button was automatically pressed (when no physical button was in fact touched).  For instance, I have the cursor over a note in the pattern screen, and while I was sitting several feet away from the NERDSEQ, while sequencer was stopped, it played that single note as if I had previewed by physically pressing the "OK" button (it is periodically repeating this, as I type my message).  This has intermittently been happening with the new firmware.

I tried to upload a 30 sec video of what happens, but it is too large.  So here's a link to the file on my Dropbox:

Dropbox Link


RE: Release Candidate Firmware V1.24 RC2 - XORadmin - 02-08-2021

(02-08-2021, 04:42 AM)sak-rwsd Wrote:
(02-07-2021, 11:22 AM)XORadmin Wrote:
(02-07-2021, 10:55 AM)sak-rwsd Wrote:
(02-07-2021, 08:58 AM)XORadmin Wrote:
Quote:sak-rwsd

I’ve finally set up my MIDI a bit ...

I moved this here ...

Hi Thomas, I didn’t have my Moog synths connected ...

That sounds quite complex for me ...
So I've saved the file as "Debug" and reduced it to one ......

OK allright, connected my midi gear and as it looks like the issue is the prelistening here.
First keep one thing in mind, prelistening does always a prelisten for all the 4 columns.
But what goes wrong here is that a false channel is being send on prelisten note on. It sends the note on for the current selected channel for all notes in the row. But it sends the note off correctly, which leaves you to a hanging note. Your M32 keeps the note on and will always get back to that one. Thats why your sequence is also not correctly anymore and you hear 2 notes. One which is being played and one where it returns to which was on.
I will fix that prelisten issue and see if it is all correct after that.


RE: Release Candidate Firmware V1.24 RC3 - XORadmin - 02-08-2021

UPDATE RC3:
- fixed midi preview issue if overrule channels are used
- fixed table issue if table source is the FX Tick and if it is on the same row
- added midi overrule visibility on midi channels

Files in the first post are updated.


RE: Release Candidate Firmware V1.24 RC3 - mewraz - 02-08-2021

wow, this looks fantastic. Will test it right away!


RE: Release Candidate Firmware V1.24 RC4 - XORadmin - 02-08-2021

UPDATE RC4:
- finished new ratcheting and random functions for the local triggers. Values in the trigger column bigger than E0 got a special function now for even and odd ratcheting, random triggers, random 'ratches', random gates based on the random ranges.

Files in the first post are updated.


RE: Release Candidate Firmware V1.24 RC4 - T3t_one - 02-08-2021

(02-08-2021, 09:31 PM)XORadmin Wrote: UPDATE RC4:
- finished new ratcheting and random functions for the local triggers. Values in the trigger column bigger than E0 got a special function now for even and odd ratcheting, random triggers, random 'ratches', random gates based on the random ranges.

Files in the first post are updated.

Was literally going to request this a few hours ago. Powerful update!


RE: Release Candidate Firmware V1.24 RC2 - sak-rwsd - 02-08-2021

(02-08-2021, 09:20 AM)XORadmin Wrote:
(02-08-2021, 04:42 AM)sak-rwsd Wrote:
(02-07-2021, 11:22 AM)XORadmin Wrote:
(02-07-2021, 10:55 AM)sak-rwsd Wrote:
(02-07-2021, 08:58 AM)XORadmin Wrote: I moved this here ...

Hi Thomas, I didn’t have my Moog synths connected ...

That sounds quite complex for me ...
So I've saved the file as "Debug" and reduced it to one ......

OK allright, connected my midi gear and as it looks like the issue is the prelistening here.
First keep one thing in mind, prelistening does always a prelisten for all the 4 columns.
But what goes wrong here is that a false channel is being send on prelisten note on. It sends the note on for the current selected channel for all notes in the row. But it sends the note off correctly, which leaves you to a hanging note. Your M32 keeps the note on and will always get back to that one. Thats why your sequence is also not correctly anymore and you hear 2 notes. One which is being played and one where it returns to which was on.
I will fix that prelisten issue and see if it is all correct after that.

Thanks much for explaining - makes sense now.  Even better, it appears to be working for me now without the same problem.  Very cool!